Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK's design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is the index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles in art.
Art Full Text™ is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Art Index Retrospective [1929-1984] provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Includes the complete archives of many core scholarly journals. They have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. New titles and fields are being added regularly.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive for the older content of selected academic journals. It contains retrospective material for more than 1,000 core scholarly journals across the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, and sciences. The journal coverage starts with volume 1 issue 1 and includes all previous titles. More recently published issues (the past three-to-five years) are generally not available as part of JSTOR.
Offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
American National Biography The format of articles in the American National Biography is based on chronology. A given article traces a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Childhood and education are, as a rule, briefly discussed at the outset; then the course of the subject's career is mapped out, with the emphasis on the key achievements and the essential details of private life.
Current Biography has long been a standard for contemporary biography. With coverage in Legacy going back to 1940, this resource can also be used to mine for retrospective biography. The entries are well written and detailed. The people are generally important newsmakers and cover all walks of life.
This 34 volume encyclopedia is perhaps the most comprehensive reference resource for the field of art. The scope includes coverage of major artists, architecture, painting, sculpture, performance art, multi-media, folk art and graphic arts. Geographic coverage is broad with extensive treatments for all regions of the world. The entries can vary from a few words to hundreds of pages. Much the content is richly supplemented by pictures and detailed bibliographies making this a resource of unique authority and depth.
Perhaps the largest most comprehensive reference source for anyone interested in the lives of people from the British Isles. The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, or the ONB, provides full, accurate, and concise entries on noteworthy people from all walks of life. This resource covers retrospective biography with articles confined to people who died before December 31, 2000. No living person is included in the ONB.
The OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons is a network of centrally hosted institutional repositories featuring local branding, remote submission and administration, and federated searching.
Digital Resource Commons : The OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons is a network of centrally hosted institutional repositories featuring local branding, remote submission and administration, and federated searching. The DRC enables Ohio colleges and universities to save, discover and share all types and formats of digital materials. Available now: The DRC leverages statewide economies of scale and empowers institutions to rapidly publish and access the wealth of research, historic and creative materials produced by Ohio's scholarly communities. Members can create, use, and manage content stored on our servers without redundant and costly local investments. All participants reap the benefits of locally-created content including audio, video, images and text. The system is designed to make content submission easy, and provides local administrators with the ability to delegate the submission process to instructors across their entire campus. Contributors can brand content to a particular department or college, while still retaining the ability to search across all communities and institutions in the repository. To the end user it appears to be a single site hosted on your institution's own servers.
Full-length educational films and documentaries on many subjects.
Educational Films and Documentaries contains full-length educational films and documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities and Sciences. Formerly known as The Digital Video Collection.
Video library of award–winning documentaries and performances spanning the arts. Containing over 20,000 titles from more than 800 international producers.
Video library of Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts. Containing over 20,000 titles from more than 800 international producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, MacNeil/Lehrer Productions, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art from these textbooks: * Gardner's Art Through the Ages * Stokstad's History of Art * Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art