Offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
American National Biography The format of articles in the American National Biography is based on chronology. A given article traces a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Childhood and education are, as a rule, briefly discussed at the outset; then the course of the subject's career is mapped out, with the emphasis on the key achievements and the essential details of private life.
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
Biography Reference Bank provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. BRB offers substantive narrative profiles, each about 2,000 words long, from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers. Full-text articles, abstracts, and images gleaned from thousands of magazines and journals cover new names and expand on existing profiles. Book review excerpts and full text reviews help users find and select print biographies. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images. Daily updates provide up-to-the-minute coverage of newsmakers.
The original publication of "Notable American Women" was considered a watershed in women's history when it was first published in 1971. Women over three centuries of American history are covered and include artists, lawyers, reformers, educators, pioneers, and many lesser known personages. Each entry offers an interpretive biographical essay that integrates the woman’s personal life with her professional achievements set in the context of larger historical developments.
This resource covers retrospective Ohio biography from the early 18th century to the early 1990's. Coverage includes Native Americans, governors, congressman, inventors, businessman, and lesser known persons. The entries vary in length but are generally short and descriptive.
The Dictionary of American History is one of the most respected encyclopedias dealing with this subject. The current third edition continues a publication line that goes back to 1940 under the editorship of the noted historian James Truslow Adams. This resource has a broad scope covering political, military, biographical, economic, cultural, personal, and demographic developments. Nearly three million words make up the "Dictionary" and entries vary in length from a paragraph to several pages. Longer treatments are often substantial essays on the subject in question. The entries are all signed and contain bibliographies.
This encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference guide for the period of the Civil War. Nearly 1700 articles cover the conflict in detail from it's origins to the end of the fighting in 1865. Entries vary in length from a single column to several pages. All the articles are signed and contain cross references to related articles in the encyclopedia, and to bibliographies that map the reader to outside resources. This resource is further enhanced by the drawings, photographs, and maps that accompany the text.
This resource is a substantial reference treatment of the War of 1812. Generally short entries describe all aspects of the conflict that include battles, economics, alliances, Native American relations, and biographies of key participants. All entries are signed and contain bibliographies to outside resources. A series of appendixes direct readers to the congressional war vote, executive officers of the federal government, and key documents. A print version of the this encyclopedia is also available in the Legacy reference collection on the first floor under call# REF E354 .H46 1997.
This encyclopedia provides an introduction to the history of women's suffrage around the world. While this resource has significant entries internationally, the bulk of the articles deal with the suffrage movement in Britain and the United States. The entries are nearly all written by the editors and contain references to outside sources.
This resource deals with American History from 1781-1861. The editors provide a strong histriographic introduction and several stand alone essays dealing with politics and political culture, economics, foreign affairs, and the road to civil war. A to Z entries follow that vary in length from a few paragraphs to several pages. All the offerings are signed and contain substantial bibliographies.
This encyclopedia offers detailed introductions to Native American groups across North America and the Caribbean. Nearly 400 distinct cultures from 13 geographic clusters are described in this resource. The entries are formatted essays that include rubrics for history, religion, language, buildings, subsistence, clothing, medicine, customs, oral traditions, current issues, and bibliographies. The text is further enhanced by prints, photographs, side bars, and maps.
A collection of over 350 essay entries encompassing American literary history from the 17th century to the present day. The entries are all signed and offer analysis and perspective on literary genres, themes, periods, and major works. This resource also provides detailed biographical sketches of major American authors.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is the index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Includes the complete archives of many core scholarly journals. They have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. New titles and fields are being added regularly.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive for the older content of selected academic journals. It contains retrospective material for more than 1,000 core scholarly journals across the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, and sciences. The journal coverage starts with volume 1 issue 1 and includes all previous titles. More recently published issues (the past three-to-five years) are generally not available as part of JSTOR.
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC includes: * Over 1,200 Additional Full-Text Literary Reference Books/Works, including titles with a focus on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children’s literature, Hispanic literature, and other areas * Over 200 Additional Full-Text Literary Journals & Magazines, including titles with a focus on multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature * 35 Volumes of New Contemporary Literature Titles from Salem Press relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners * 40 Full-Text Literary study guides * plot summaries, synopses and work overviews * articles of literary criticism * full text of literary journals * author biographies * book reviews * author interviews * and images of key literary figures
Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction. Magazines of these periods cover the literature, science, religion, arts, and history of the time.
Balay's Early Periodical Indexes is the most comprehensive guide available to the indexing of periodical literature from the 16th century to the end of the 19th century. This is a useful tool for identifying indexing for primary periodical material across a wide range of disciplines. Balay has also included serial and topical bibliographies citing publications in all formats explaining the relationship among them. Later online databases that index sets of retrospective periodicals are also described. The scope of this resource is limited to European languages and to more academically orientated literature. Users of this resource should understand that this a guide to indexing sources that may or may not be available in particular library collections. The periodical literature that is finally identified may depend on traveling to other libraries or using inter-library loan channels.
Poole's Index is perhaps the best known source to use in finding articles retrospectively. Focused on the 19th century, the original index was compiled by William Frederick Poole and later continued by William L. Fletcher with the help of the American Library Association. This resource covers over a century and indexes nearly 600,000 articles in 479 American and English periodicals. Poole's index is a valuable resource for locating potential primary articles from the 19th century.
This is a guide to Marietta area newspapers for which the college library has issues on microfilm in special collections. The guide has three sections that include an alphabetical, chronological, and a miscellaneous listing of newspapers. Users should be cautioned that this source doesn't provide subject access to the content of these newspapers.
Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.
This is the index for the New York Times newspaper. The index provides subject access to the contents of the times and guide to the location of the article in the original newspaper. The full articles are available in a microfilm collection in the basement of Legacy Library under call# AI21. N37-AN2. N4.
The First American West: The Ohio River Valley 1750-1820 is a module of the American Memory project from the Library of Congress. This site consists of a digital collection of over 15,000 documents of primary historical material that helps tell the story of the original inhabitants and early settlement of the Ohio Valley. These documents are largely drawn from the collections of the University of Chicago Library and Filson Historical Society of Louisville Kentucky. First American West is a good site to review for it's rich collection of Ohio related items.
Located in the basement of Legacy Library, this collection is a very important depository of material dealing with the early history of Ohio. The flagship collection is the papers of the Ohio Company of Associates which was the first land granting company in the state. Numerous other collections relating to the city of Marietta and early Ohio pioneers can also be found in Special Collections. This collection also houses the archives and records for Marietta College. No material in this part of the library circulates and items will have to be used on site during designated hours.
The Washington County Historical Society maintains an archive in Marietta located at 346 Muskingum Avenue. This archive is an important depository of primary items relating to the history of Marietta and surrounding communities in Washington County. Particular collection strengths would include photographs, letters, memorabilia, family histories, commemorative pieces, and census documents. Items in the collection will have to viewed on site at the archives facility.
The Washington County Public Library maintains an archival collection on 418 Washington Street in Marietta. While geared to family history research, this facility is rich with material for those interested in broader local history. Particular collection strengths would include photographs, local business records, census material, and online newspaper and genealogical resources. The primary focus is Washington County, but the facility also has resources dealing with the rest of the nation and selected European countries. Items in this collection will have to be viewed and used onsite at the archives facility.
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK's design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
American Memory provides free access to still and moving images, spoken words, sound recordings, prints, maps, and sheet music that provide a visual record of American history and culture. These digital images are taken from the collections of the Library of Congress and tell the story of important movements, and ideas that have shaped the development of the United States.This project began in 1994 and remains ongoing.
Ohio Memory is an ongoing project between the Ohio Historical Society and numerous library and manuscript collections to create a visual archive of images dealing with the state's heritage. This collection currently contains over 26,000 items and free access is provided for researchers that use the collection.