Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Video library of award–winning documentaries and performances spanning the arts. Containing over 20,000 titles from more than 800 international producers.
Video library of Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts. Containing over 20,000 titles from more than 800 international producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, MacNeil/Lehrer Productions, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
Includes the complete archives of many core scholarly journals. They have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. New titles and fields are being added regularly.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive for the older content of selected academic journals. It contains retrospective material for more than 1,000 core scholarly journals across the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, and sciences. The journal coverage starts with volume 1 issue 1 and includes all previous titles. More recently published issues (the past three-to-five years) are generally not available as part of JSTOR.
Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Nexis Uni, formerly called LexisNexis Academic, provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK's design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide. Used for Inter-Library Loan.
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Offers more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and major reference sets. Includes full text of key publications, such as The Economist, The New York Times, The Times and Financial Times. Includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning
The Chilton Library is a database of automotive help. It includes step-by-step service and repair procedures, wiring diagrams, maintenance and specification tables, troubleshooting guides, and diagnostic trouble codes.
A multidisciplinary, full-text database with content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
A database of private foundations and public agencies that provide grant funding. Access limited to computers in the Legacy Library building.
An index to profiles of private foundations, corporate foundations, community foundations, and corporate contribution programs, as well as federal and state agencies that offer grant programs. Searchable by geographic area and areas of interest.
Offers high quality research on worldwide environmental and sustainability issues. Content is multidisciplinary and covers scientific, health, political, and social issues.
Provides news, overview information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents, and statistics in research areas such as energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development.
Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.
This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text for nearly 2,000 magazines and book is provided, along with videos, and hobby profiles. Subjects include arts & crafts, home & garden, outdoor recreation, performing arts, and science & technology.
A collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides users with detailed information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.
Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides users with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects. Subjects include maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, decorating, plumbing, and wood projects.
An age-appropriate database for elementary students that includes books, magazines, news, videos, and images on a variety of topics.
Kids Infobits is a kid-friendly database for elementary students that includes books, magazines, news, videos, and images on topics like: animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, and technology.
This cross-curricular research database covering today's hottest social issues. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics.
With today’s overabundance of information, and misinformation, students and researchers alike can be overwhelmed in identifying what’s trustworthy, what’s up-to-date, and what’s accurate. Oxford University Press has invested in the Oxford Research Encyclopedias to meet this challenge. Working with international communities of scholars across all fields of study, we are developing new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.
Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics.
Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans. Also included are state-specific resources, start-up business plans, and industry information.
A language learning resource, offering speaking, typing, listening, and vocabulary practice in 100+ languages.
A language learning resource, offering speaking, typing, listening, and vocabulary practice in 100+ languages, including for ESL students. Transparent Languages can be used via computer, smart phone, or tablet; both iPhone and Android devices are supported. To use this application, you must create an account and register yourself as a user so that the application can track your information.
UNdata offers statistical information from member states on a variety of topics.
UNdata is provided by the United Nations Statistics Division. It offers official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism.
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects.
Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.
Based on the World Book encyclopedia, this web site serves as a gateway to its various dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, images, maps, videos, timelines, current news, links to external articles, and more.
More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.
Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Included resources are: World book kids. World book student. World book advanced. Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos. Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica. L'Encyclopedie Decouverte. Early world of learning. Timelines.
The premier online reference source with thousands of articles, state-of-the-art multimedia, editor-reviewed websites, Behind the Headlines and Compare Places features, a How to Do Research guide, periodical content, and more.