This guide identifies useful research tools for the HIST 202 class.
Last Updated: May 2, 2014
Published books can be an important source for both primary and secondary source material. A book written at a certain period is an interesting mirror into the writing, thinking and social bias of people living in a given time. Books are also one of the principle ways in which historical research is communicated. Some resources for finding books in history would include:
- MC Library Catalog
Catalog of books, media, journals, and other materials owned by the Legacy Library
- OhioLINK Library Catalog
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.
Magazines, journals, and trade publications published at different times are imporatant primary sources in constructing any history. Periodicals can track the social pulse of a given period and provide original insight into a society's news, fashion, entertainment, and underlying cultural attitudes. Periodicals can also be imporatant secondary resources for reporting historical research both contemporanously and retrospectively. Some useful resources in tracking down both primary and secondary periodical resources are as follows:
- Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
- America: History and Life
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
- Early Periodical Indexes: Bibliographies and Indexes of Literature Published in Periodicals before 1900 by Robert Baly. New York: Scarecrow Press, 2000. Legacy Library Reference PN4801. B35 2000.
A listing of indexes and literature guides for older periodicals.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
Full text of 7000+ research journals.
- Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
- Index to City and Regional Magazines of the United States by Sam Riley and Gary Selnow. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Legacy Library Reference PN4877. R53 1989.
A listing of historical regionally based periodical titles.
Includes the complete archives of many core scholarly journals. They have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. New titles and fields are being added regularly.
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906) by William Frederick Poole. Gloucester, Mass.: Peter Smith. Special Collections- Lower Level ZZ1.P71
A comprehensive index to 19th century periodicals.
- Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (1901-2013). Minneapolis Minn.: H.W. Wilson. Legacy Library Reference Indexes ZZ1.P71
A comprehensive index for 20th and early 21st century periodicals.
Newspapers are often described as the 'rough draft" of history. The articles, editorials, pictures, and advertisements found in newspapers can give a sense of how a society reacts in a very immediate and viseral way to the events of the day. Newspapers can often give a running commentary on how events, trends, or social convention unfolded or played out for people at very specific time in the past. Some resources that can be used to find retrospective newspapers would include:
- American Newspapers, 1821-1936 by Winfred Gregory and the Bibliographic Society of America. New York: H.W. Wilson Company, 1937. Legacy Library Reference Z6945.
A listing of important historical American Newspapers.
- Guide to Marietta Area Newspapers on Microfilm by Gena Buehrer. Dawes Memorial Library, Marietta College, 2000. Legacy Library Reference Desk Z6945. M3 2000 and Special Collections under the same call number.
A guide to historical newspapers for Marietta Ohio.
- Guide to Ohio Newspapers 1793-1973: Union Bibliography of Ohio Newspapers Available in Ohio Libraries edited by Stephen Gutgessell. Columbus: Ohio Historical Society , 1976. Legacy Library Reference Z6952. O4 G87.
A guide of historic Ohio newspapers.
Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
- History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 by Clarence Saunders Bingham. Worchester, Mass, American Antiquarian Society, 1947. Legacy Library Reference Z6951. B86
Listing of historic American newspapers.
- Newspaper Indexes: a Location and Subject Guide for Researchers by Anita Cheek Miller. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1977. Legacy Library Reference Z6951. M635
A listing of indexes and other access tools for retrospective newspapers.
- New York Times Index. New York: New York Times Company (1851-2009). Legacy Library Reference Indexes AI21. N44.
Retrospective index to the New York Times newspaper.
- United States Newspaper Program (USNP)
Site for a cooperative program for access and preservation of historic American newspapers.
- Virginia Gazette Index. Williamsburg, Virginia: The Institute of Early American History and Culture, 1950. Legacy Library Reference AI21. V5.
Index to the Virginia Gazette.
Manuscripts are perhaps the rawest form of primary source information. For many scholars they represent the purest source material because they are often the unpublished, unflitered, unmediated thoughts and impressions of people as they come to grips with what's happening around them. Manuscripts can be challenging to locate with collections located in repositories that are highly fragmented and decentralized. Some resources that might prove useful in finding manuscripts are as follows:
Photographs, drawings, maps, and other visual images can be important primary sources. The visual record can provide important connections to people and places at different times. Real images can help us understand how people looked and how the physical spaces of living were constructed. Some interesting resources that may be helpful in finding images would include:
- American Memory
A large repository of digital images from the Library of Congress.
- Digital Resource Commons
The OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons is a network of centrally hosted institutional repositories featuring local branding, remote submission and administration, and federated searching.
- History & Archives digital resources
Pictures and archives about Ohio history, contributed by Ohio museums and libraries.
- Ohio Memory
An archive of digital images from the Ohio Historical Society.
- Sanborn Historic Maps
Large-scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1882-1962.
- Saskia Art History Images
Digital images of works of Western Art.
Statistics and quantitative data can be imporant elements in historical research. Data can give a picture of how things like prices, employment, housing, trade, mortality, and immigration can impact societies over time. Some resources that can be useful in locating statistics retrospectivley would include:
The Legacy Library no longer subscribes to the RefWorks service. See the link below for alternatives.
- Citation Management Tools
Free tools to assist you in the creation and management of citations in MLA style, APA style, and other formats.
Please search Full Text Finder to make sure Marietta College does not already provide access to the journal title you are looking for.
If you are sure that the journal or book is not available to Marietta College, please fill out the following form.